Please enable JavaScript to experience the full functionality of GMX.

Google announces new privacy setting controls

Google will automatically delete location and user history after 18 months for new users.

The search engine giant has announced a string of privacy updates, which also includes users not being tracked when they are using their apps Maps and YouTube.

The improved security measures come as new privacy laws were passed in California and Europe and Google being accused of storing data.

Over on video app YouTube, users viewing history of 36 months will be wiped.

However, Google has given people the option to control the setting.

To activate incognito mode, Google users will simply need to click on their profile picture.

Google boss Sundar Pichai previously revealed the company would implement a system which makes the private mode available through its other apps, including search and maps.

Pichai made the announcement as part of a flurry of privacy-related updates at this year's I/O developer conference, and showed attendees a screenshot of the function in action.

Sponsored Content