Please enable JavaScript to experience the full functionality of GMX.

Lewis Dunk thankful ref didn't give second penalty

Lewis Dunk thankful ref didn't give second penalty

Lewis Dunk admits he was thankful a second penalty wasn't given when he challenged Charlie Adam in the aftermath of his spot-kick miss.

Dunk, like Brighton manager Chris Hughton, claimed the initial penalty award in Saturday's 1-1 draw at bet365 Stadium was 'very soft'.

Asked if he thought referee Bobby Madley had made the right call to give the penalty, Dunk said on Brighton's official website: "Never in a million years.

"I thought it was very soft, but the ref gave it and we had to deal with it. When he watches it back, it will be up to him to decide what he thinks of it.

"Maty [Ryan] then came to the rescue and saved it, and I don't know (how) I got back to make the tackle! Maybe he [Adam] thought it was too easy and concentrated for too long. Luckily I got back and thankfully the referee didn't give another penalty.

"I thought my challenge was more of a penalty than the one the referee gave, but thankfully he didn't."

Sponsored Content