Please enable JavaScript to experience the full functionality of GMX.

App Store now available in 175 countries and regions

Apple's App Store is now available in 175 countries and regions.

The firm announced that App Store, iCloud, Apple Podcasts, and Apple Arcade, has now launched in 20 new countries, whilst their Apple Music app is available in 52 new regional markets.

These include Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East and Oceania.

Oliver Schusser, Apple's vice president of Apple Music and International Content, said: "We're delighted to bring many of Apple's most beloved Services to users in more countries than ever before."

Meanwhile, Apple recently banned apps relating to coronavirus on the App Store.

Tim Cook's firm announced their plans in a bid to make sure all of their apps contain data that is from a "reputable source" to prevent the spread of misinformation and fake news.

In a statement, they said: "We're evaluating apps critically to ensure data sources are reputable."

The tech giant added that they will only approve apps with coronavirus content from "government organisations, health-focused NGOs, companies deeply credentialed in health issues, and medical or educational institutions."

Apple followed in the footsteps of The Google Play store, which only has coronavirus apps with trusted sources.

They said: "As cases of the coronavirus continue to be confirmed, these apps can help you stay prepared and informed."

Whilst social media apps Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have all imposed bans on fake news relating to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Sponsored Content